SwissPhO 2012

The International Physics Olympiad IPhO 2012 is going to take place between 15 July and 24 July in Estonia. The leaders will be accommodated in Tallinn while the participants will be staying in Tartu, home to the oldest university of Estonia.

We would like to use this opportunity to thank Alfredo Mastrocola for his involvement in the SwissPhO over many years. We congratulate to the well-deserved prize which he was awarded by the VSWO at the 7th Swiss Scientific Olympiads Day 2011 for his long-standing commitment.
Alfredo passed on his positions of Coordinator and Treasurer this year with Simon Birrer taking over as Coordinator; Matthias Treier is Alfredo's successor as Treasurer. We are very grateful that we will still be able to benefit from Alfredo's invaluable advice and hands-on support.

We would further like to express our gratitude to Harald Sprenger. His service as Secretary has been of great value. He is passing on his position to Simon Birrer for professional reasons.


Alfredo Mastrocola
Alfredo Mastrocola

© Image: Hannes Suter, VSWO

SwissPhO 2012 : inscriptions terminées

Les Olympiades Internationales de Physique IPhO 2012 se dérouleront du 15 au 24 juillet en Estonie. L'organisation prévoit l'occupation de deux sites différents : la capitale Tallin accueillera les leaders, tandis que les participants seront logés à Tartu, ville possédant la plus ancienne université d'Estonie.

Nous aimerions également en profiter pour remercier Alfredo Mastrocola en raison de son constant engagement en faveur de la SwissPhO depuis de nombreuses années, et nous le félicitons pour sa distinction remise par l'Association des Olympiades Scientifiques Suisses (AOSS) lors du 7e Swiss Scientific Olympiads Day (le 20 novembre dernier à Berne).
Alfredo transmet ainsi sa fonction de coordinateur à Simon Birrer, tout comme son poste de caissier à Matthias Treier. Il va sans dire que nous pourrons cependant toujours compter sur ses conseils et son aide sur le terrain, ce pour quoi nous le remercions par avance.

Notre reconnaissance va également à Harald Sprenger qui, pour des raisons professionnelles, doit céder son poste de secrétaire; Simon Birrer reprend ainsi sa fonction. Encore tous nos remerciements à Harald pour son engagements au cours des années passées.


Alfredo Mastrocola
Alfredo Mastrocola

© Image: Hannes Suter, VSWO