IPhO 2011– Harmony in Physics

Bangkok – The capital city of Thailand hosted the 42. International Physics Olympiads 2011 (IPhO) under the slogan Harmony in Physics, which took place from July 10th to 18th. The royal Thai family and the Chulalongkorn University of Bangkok entertained 84 countries with excursions all over the capital, and with cultural shows.

During the theoretical test students had to solve three exercises covering classical physics topics, such as the gravitational laws governing the three-body problem, the thermodynamics describing the behavior of soap bubbles, and the electrodynamics which was used to describe scattering processes between atoms and ions.

During the five hours of experimental examination the contestants were asked to reverse engineer a digital caliber, and to solve a mechanics experiment, with the goal of finding the position and the mass of a small sphere inside a cylinder.

This year Switzerland has been represented by these five contestants (from left to right):

  • Sebastian Käser,
    from Gurzelen (Gymn. Thun Schadau, BE)
  • Dominic Schwarz,
    from Teufen (Kantonschule Trogen, AR)
  • Jean-François Pinazza,
    from Lonay (Gymnase de Morges, VD)
  • Thanh Phong Lê,
    from Crissier (Gymnase du Bugnon, site de Sévelin, VD)
  • Sylvain Hauser,
    from Moutier (Gymn. français Bienne, BE)

Congratulations to Jean-François Pinazza for his bronze medal, and to Dominic Schwarz and Thanh Phong Lê for earning each an honorable mention.

IPhO 2011– Harmony in Physics

Bangkok – La capitale thaïlandaise organisait cette année les 42èmes Olympiades Internationales de Physique (IPhO) sous le slogan Harmony in Physics (harmonie en physique), du 10 au 18 juillet 2011. La famille royale de Thaïlande et l'université Chulalongkorn de Bangkok ont veillé à prendre soin des 84 pays présents, grâce notamment à des excursions organisées tout au long de la semaine qui ont permis de mieux connaître la culture thaïlandaise et les lieux caractéristiques de la capitale.

Durant l'épreuve théoriques, les étudiants ont dû résoudre trois exercices touchant à la physique classique, à savoir la gravitation dans le problème à trois corps, la thermodynamique décrivant le comportement des bulles de savon et l'électromagnétisme utilisé pour décrire les collisions entre atomes et ions.

Pendant les cinq heures de l'examen expérimental, les participants ont dans un premier temps mené une expérience de rétro-ingénierie consistant à comprendre le fonctionnement d'un pied à coulisse digital. Au cours d'une seconde expérience, mécanique celle-là, il leur fallait trouver la position et la masse d'une petite sphère insérée dans un cylindre creux.

La Suisse était cette année représentée par cinq candidats (de gauche à droite) :

  • Sebastian Käser,
    de Gurzelen (Gymn. Thun Schadau, BE)
  • Dominic Schwarz,
    de Teufen (Kantonschule Trogen, AR)
  • Jean-François Pinazza,
    de Lonay (Gymnase de Morges, VD)
  • Thanh Phong Lê,
    de Crissier (Gymnase du Bugnon, site de Sévelin, VD)
  • Sylvain Hauser,
    de Moutier (Gymn. français Bienne, BE)

Félicitations à Jean-François Pinazza pour sa médaille de bronze, ainsi qu'à Dominic Schwarz et Thanh Phong Lê pour leur mention honorable.