SwissPhO 2015 - Results

Aarau - At the Swiss Physics Olympiad the best young talents in Physics were chosen. The competition took place the weekend of march 21st and 22nd. The 20 finalists prepared themselves during the months since the Preliminary Round, tackling a wide range of Physics questions. One great opportunity was the training weekend that took place at EPFL. Everybody had a lot of fun exchanging ideas with other participants that are equally interested in Physics as they are.

The exam questions the participants had to solve were quite challenging. They had to show their knowledge and skills solving theoretical questions and interesting experiments. To succeed they had to work patiently and precisely. For one experiment the teenagers had to find the cooling constant of a cup filled with warm water. They hat to interpret the results and draw conclusions about the three stages of the head transfer taking place.

The five gold medalists will form the Swiss team at the International Physics Olympiad 2015 in Mumbai, India. Additionally Linus Geiser and Mattia Humbel were awarded with the special prize for the best junior physicist offered by the Swiss Physical Society. These prizes were handed over at the ceremony in the Neuen Kantonsschule Aarau.

The final ranking of the SwissPhO 2015 is given as follows:

Rank Name Region Total (max. 120) Distinction Special Award
1 Geiser Linus d 63.6 Gold SSP-Award 1
2 Humbel Mattia d 62.7 Gold SSP-Award 2
3 Altherr Anian d 62.6 Gold
4 Gebek Andrea d 57.3 Gold
5 Krummenacher Kajo d 55.45 Gold
6 Gantenbein Nicolà d 55.05 Silver
7 Schuhmacher Julian d 53.85 Silver
8 Mallor Timothy d 49.25 Silver
9 Lüthi Melina d 42.75 Silver
10 Buitendijk Jeroen d 39.75 Silver
11 Guggisberg Yann f 39.5 Bronze
12 Dulex Nicolas f 39.3 Bronze
13 * d 35.75 Bronze
14 Jordan Linus f 34.55 Bronze
15 Stocco Dario d 33.1 Bronze
16 Wiedler Oliver d 32.25
17 Huang Xingjian f 31.8
18 Campillo Benjamin d 31.6
19 Bradley Timothy d 29.45
20 Covoni Tony f 27.5

*Wish that his name is not published.

1) Best Swiss Participant (Swiss Physical Society Prize)
2) Second Best Swiss Participant (Swiss Physical Society Prize)

Congratulations to all the participants, especially to the first five of them who are thus taking part in the IPhO 2015 in Mumbai.

Additionally we encourage all the candidates to participate next year again. The experience you gained this year will definitely give you an advantage next year.

Press release by the ASSO: german, french.

Photos of the closing ceremony can be found on the website of the ASSO.

The five gold medalists (left to right): Linus Geiser, Mattia Humbel, Anian Altherr, Kajo Krummenacher und Andrea Gebek

All medalists of SwissPhO 2015.

Linus GeiserMattia Humbel
The recepients of the SPS awards: Linus Geiser und Mattia Humbel

Photos taken during the exams:

Theoretical Exam1
Experimental Exam1
Experimental Exam2
Experimental Exam3
Experimental Exam4

© Images : AOSS, Markus Meier