Results SwissPhO 2013

Aarau - The final round of the Swiss Physics Olympiad took place on March 23/24 in Aarau at Neue Kantonsschule. The competition was held between twenty-four students from Switzerland and two from Liechtenstein.

The selection process began in January with a prelimary round, at which a record number of over 100 students participated. The students had the chance to prepare for the final round at a three day training session at EPFL. The final round consisted of two challenging days, totalling no less than six and a half hours of theoretical and experimental exams. The top five participants will have the unique opportunity to travel to Denmark to represent Switzerland at the International Physics Olympiad in July.

The final rankings of the SwissPho 2013 are shown below.

Rank Name Region Marks (out of 120) Distinction Special Prize
1 Pfeiffer Sven d 64.85 Gold SPS-Award 1)
2 Winkler Rafael d 60.45 Gold SPS-Award 2)
3 Wenger Quentin f 57.45 Gold
4 Rossier Alain f 57.35 Gold
5 Borgeaud William f 57.3 Gold
6 Stas Pieter f 55.65 Silver
7 Maret Arnaud f 55.05 Silver
8 Keller Fabian d 53.85 Silver
9 Schroeder Florian d 53.65 Silver
10 Kehl Viviane d 53.15 Silver SPS-Award 3)
11 Komagata Kenichi f 52.25 Bronze
12 Stengele Sebastian d 51.1 Bronze
13 Roos Barbara d 50.8 Bronze
14 Burgener Cyrill d 46.9 Bronze
15 Haag Jürg d 43.95 Bronze
16 Quan Guanzhong d 43.7
17 Huguenin-Dumittan Kevin d 43.65
18 Blöchlinger Pascal d 41.15
19 Suter-Dörig Benjamin Andris d 40.7
20 Guyer Gian d 40.45
21 Walter Moritz d 39.7
22 Weber Stefan d 36.85
23 Leyvraz Frederik d 34.5
24 Novotny Timothy d 25.95
Non-competitive (Liechtenstein):
Lang Lukas FL 67.75 SPS-Award 4)
Hälg David FL 36.85

1) Best Swiss Participant (Swiss Physical Society Prize)
2) Runner-up Swiss Participant (Swiss Physical Society Prize)
3) Best female participant (Swiss Physical Society Prize)
4) Heighest score (Swiss Physical Society Prize)

More detailed scores are available here.

Press release by the ASSO: French, German

Photos of the closing ceremony can be found on the website of the ASSO.

The five gold medallists together with the winner from Liechtenstein (left to right): Rafael Winkler, William Borgeaud, Quentin Wenger, Alain Rossier, Sven Pfeiffer and Lukas Lang

SSP Awards
The recepients of the SPS awards: Sven Pfeiffer, Rafael Winkler, Viviane Kehl and Lukas Lang

Dominik GreschLevy Jäger
Dominik Gresch demonstrating an experiment and Levy Jäger during his musical performance.

Dr Gabriel PalaciosDr Antoine Pochelon
Gabriel Palacios, President of the SwissPhO, and Antoine Pochelon, Secretary of the Swiss Physical Society

Photos taken during the exams

Theoretical Exam1
Theoretical Exam1
Experimental Exam1
Experimental Exam2

© Images : ASSO, Markus Meier