Preliminary Round 2014 – Results

The preliminary round of the SwissPhO 2014 took place on Wednesday, 15th of January 2014. 67 students from all across Switzerland took part in the competition, which was held simultaneously in four different places: Bern, Zurich, Lausanne and Lugano.

Congratulations to the following 25 Swiss participants and the student from Liechtenstein who qualified for the SwissPhO 2014. (The ranking has no significance for the SwissPhO.)

Rank Name Points (out of 72)
1 Winkler Rafael 55
2 Stengele Sebastian 54.5
3 Roos Barbara 51.5
4 Burgener Cyrill 50
5 Rudin Nikita 49.25
6 Fischer Raphael 46
7 Schading Simon 45.75
8 Walker Andreas 45.25
9 Krummenacher Kajo 44.5
10 Lüthi Melina 44
11 Fournier Romain 43.25
12 Altherr Anian 42.5
13 Stas Pieter 42.25
14 Töpfer Ueli 41
15 Wenger Quentin 38.5
15 Som Romina 38.5
17 Donhauser Konstantin 37 (Liechtenstein, non-competitive)
18 Lyck Fabian 36.5
19 Duc Guillaume 35.5
20 Mesot Alexandre 35.25
21 Humbel Mattia 34.5
22 Nguyen Phuc-Thien Thomas 32.5
23 Schärer Raffael 30.5
24 Schuhmacher Julian 30.25
25 Riedhauser Annina 29.75
26 Huggel Viviane 29.5

Best of luck to all the successful participants at the SwissPhO 2014, which will be take place on 29/30 March at Neue Kantonsschule Aarau. The top five participants will then get the chance to represent Switzerland in July at the International Physics Olympiad in Astana, Kazakhstan.

We thank everyone who was not lucky enough to make it into the second round for participating. We hope that many of you will try again next year.

In alphabetical oerde:
Aebi Ryan, Bradley Timothy, Braun Urs, Burger Philip, Busse-Grawitz Coralie, Cantieni Josua, Cola Gian Luca, Dulex Nicolas, Fettrelet Roméo, Frischholz Yael, Gerber Florian, Gönczy Daniel, Govoni Tony, Govori Armend, Hafner Nicolas, Inniger Michael, Jelmini Manuele, Khanna Vansh, Kilchör Janine, Kouevi-Mensah Ekoue, Künzli Benjamin, Loviat Normand, Man Zheng Chen, Man Zheng Zhi, Mesesan Andreea, Montorfani Gabriele, Näf Michael, Nufer David, Odermatt Jan, Paviththiren Sivasothilingam, Peter Alexander, Rojkov Ivan, Rojkov Mikhail, Rösch Mirjam, Schoen Timothée, Sekera David, Utiger Vera, Wohlfender Martin, Zbinden Rut, Zhu Zi Yu, Zobrist Yannik.

Zurich (ETH)

Lausanne (EPFL)

© Images: Thomas Uehlinger, Patrick Schwendimann, Thanh Phong Lê

Registration 2014 now open

You can now register here for the preliminary round of the Swiss Physics Olympiad which is going to take place on 15 January 2014. Registration deadline is 31 December 2013.

All important dates for this year's physics olympiad can be found here.

IPhO 2013 : Results

The 44th International Physics Olympiad took place in Copenhagen, Danemark, a country which provided to the scientific world many great physicists such as Hans Christan Ørsted, Tycho Brahe, Ole Rømer or Niels Bohr.

As usual, the competition was divided into two parts : five hours of theory, as well as five hours for the experiments. The three theoretical tasks involved many different fields of physics, often with a link to Danemark; the students had for instance to study some properties of a meteorite, and were asked to use their knowledge in order to understand how a plasmonic steam generator work, as well as the evolution of the Greenland ice sheet.

The experimental task was split into two experiments. The first one dealt with the velocity of light in different media (water, optic fiber), whereas the second one let them study the properties of solar cells under various conditions.

The following five candidates represented Switzerland (left to right):

  • Sven Pfeiffer, from Münsingen (Freies Gymnasium Bern, BE)
  • Alain Rossier, from Le Châble (Lycée-Collège de l'Abbaye, VS)
  • William Borgeaud, from Grandvaux (Gymnase de la Cité, VD)
  • Quentin Wenger, from Tramelan (Seeland Gymnasium Biel, BE)
  • Rafael Winkler, from Mettauertal (Alte Kantonsschule Aarau, AG)

Alain Rossier and William Borgeaud were both awarded with a bronze medal, Sven Pfeiffer, Rafael Winkler and Quentin Wenger each won an honourable mention. Great results for Switzerland !

Congratulations to the team for the extraordinary performance!

Syndicate content