SwissPhO 2012

The International Physics Olympiad IPhO 2012 is going to take place between 15 July and 24 July in Estonia. The leaders will be accommodated in Tallinn while the participants will be staying in Tartu, home to the oldest university of Estonia.

We would like to use this opportunity to thank Alfredo Mastrocola for his involvement in the SwissPhO over many years. We congratulate to the well-deserved prize which he was awarded by the VSWO at the 7th Swiss Scientific Olympiads Day 2011 for his long-standing commitment.
Alfredo passed on his positions of Coordinator and Treasurer this year with Simon Birrer taking over as Coordinator; Matthias Treier is Alfredo's successor as Treasurer. We are very grateful that we will still be able to benefit from Alfredo's invaluable advice and hands-on support.

We would further like to express our gratitude to Harald Sprenger. His service as Secretary has been of great value. He is passing on his position to Simon Birrer for professional reasons.


Alfredo Mastrocola
Alfredo Mastrocola

© Image: Hannes Suter, VSWO

Anmeldeschluss SwissPhO 2012

Die internationale Physik-Olympiade IPhO 2012 findet zwischen dem 15. und dem 24. Juli in Estland statt. Der Anlass wird dieses Mal verteilt an zwei verschiedenen Orten stattfinden: Für die Team Leader in der Hauptstadt Tallinn und für die Schüler in der ältesten Universitätsstadt Estlands Tartu.

Wir möchten uns an dieser Stelle bei Alfredo Mastrocola für sein langjähriges Engagement für die SwissPhO bedanken und gratulieren ihm ganz herzlich für seine verdiente Auszeichnung mit der Kugelpyramide des VSWO anlässlich des 7. Swiss Scientific Olympiads Day 2011 welcher am 20.November an der Uni Bern stattfand.
Alfredo übergibt heuer sein Amt als Koordinator an Simon Birrer, sowie sein Amt als Kassier an Matthias Treier. Er wird uns aber weiterhin mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stehen und sich überall dort einsetzen wo Not am Mann ist. Auch dafür sind wir ihm sehr dankbar.

Des weiteren möchten wir uns von Harald Sprenger verabschieden, welcher aus beruflichen Gründen sein Amt als Sekretär abgibt. An seiner Stelle übernimmt Simon Birrer die Aufgabe. Wir danken auch Harald ganz herzlich für seinen Einsatz.


Alfredo Mastrocola
Alfredo Mastrocola bedankt sich für die Kugelpyramide des VSWO


© Bild: Hannes Suter, VSWO