IPhO 2011– Harmony in Physics

Bangkok – The capital city of Thailand hosted the 42. International Physics Olympiads 2011 (IPhO) under the slogan Harmony in Physics, which took place from July 10th to 18th. The royal Thai family and the Chulalongkorn University of Bangkok entertained 84 countries with excursions all over the capital, and with cultural shows.

During the theoretical test students had to solve three exercises covering classical physics topics, such as the gravitational laws governing the three-body problem, the thermodynamics describing the behavior of soap bubbles, and the electrodynamics which was used to describe scattering processes between atoms and ions.

During the five hours of experimental examination the contestants were asked to reverse engineer a digital caliber, and to solve a mechanics experiment, with the goal of finding the position and the mass of a small sphere inside a cylinder.

This year Switzerland has been represented by these five contestants (from left to right):

  • Sebastian Käser,
    from Gurzelen (Gymn. Thun Schadau, BE)
  • Dominic Schwarz,
    from Teufen (Kantonschule Trogen, AR)
  • Jean-François Pinazza,
    from Lonay (Gymnase de Morges, VD)
  • Thanh Phong Lê,
    from Crissier (Gymnase du Bugnon, site de Sévelin, VD)
  • Sylvain Hauser,
    from Moutier (Gymn. français Bienne, BE)

Congratulations to Jean-François Pinazza for his bronze medal, and to Dominic Schwarz and Thanh Phong Lê for earning each an honorable mention.

IPhO 2011– Harmony in Physics

Bangkok - Zwischen dem 10. und 18. Juli fand in der Hauptstadt Thailands die 42. Internationale Physikolympiade (IPhO) unter dem Motto Harmony in Physics statt. Die thailändische königliche Familie und die Chulalongkorn Universität in Bangkok empfingen Vertreter von 84 Ländern und unterhielten sie mit Ausflügen in der Hauptstadt sowie kulturellen Vorführungen.

Während des theoretischen Tests mussten die Schüler drei Aufgaben zum Thema Klassische Physik lösen. Im speziellen zu den Gravitationsgesetzen in einem Dreikörper-Problem, zur Thermodynamik von Seifenblasen und zur Elektrodynamik, mit der sich das Streuungsverhalten zwischen Atomen und Ionen beschreiben liess.

Während des fünfstündigen Experiments mussten die Teilnehmer eine digitale Schublehre nachbauen sowie ein mechanisches Problem lösen. Das Ziel war es, die Position und die Masse einer kleinen Kugel innerhalb eines Zylinders zu bestimmen.

Die Schweiz wurde heuer von diesen fünf Teilnehmern vertreten (von links nach rechts):

  • Sebastian Käser,
    aus Gurzelen (Gymn. Thun Schadau, BE)
  • Dominic Schwarz,
    aus Teufen (Kantonschule Trogen, AR)
  • Jean-François Pinazza,
    aus Lonay (Gymnase de Morges, VD)
  • Thanh Phong Lê,
    aus Crissier (Gymnase du Bugnon, site de Sévelin, VD)
  • Sylvain Hauser,
    aus Moutier (Gymn. français Bienne, BE)

Wir gratulieren Jean-François Pinazza zu seiner Bronzemedaille sowie Dominic Schwarz und Thanh Phong Lê zu ihren Honorable Mention.